Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, function 'post_redirect' not found or invalid function name in /home/unoversion/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 288
Nobel Prize for Medicine awarded to William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza of US, Peter Ratcliffe of Britain – Rapida
Nobel Prize for Medicine awarded to William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza of US, Peter Ratcliffe of Britain


Three researchers from the US and Britain on Monday shared the Nobel Medicine Prize for discoveries on how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability, paving the way in which for new most cancers therapies, the Nobel Assembly mentioned.

William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza of the US and Britain’s Peter Ratcliffe cut up the 9 million Swedish kronor ($914,000, 833,000 euros) award.

“They established the basis for our understanding of how oxygen levels affect cellular metabolism and physiological function,” the jury mentioned, including that their analysis has “paved the way for promising new strategies to fight anaemia, cancer and many other diseases.”

The jury mentioned the trio had recognized molecular equipment that regulates the exercise of genes in response to various ranges of oxygen, which is central to a big quantity of ailments.

“Intense ongoing efforts in academic laboratories and pharmaceutical companies are now focused on developing drugs that can interfere with different disease states by either activating, or blocking, the oxygen-sensing machinery,” the jury mentioned.

All animal cells use oxygen to convert meals to usable vitality.

“However, the amount of oxygen available to cells, tissues and animals themselves can vary greatly. This prize is for three physician scientists who found the molecular switch that regulates how our cells adapt when oxygen levels drop,” Randall Johnson of the Nobel Assembly advised reporters.

Kaelin, 61, works on the Howard Hughes Medical Institute within the US, whereas Semenza, 63, is director of the Vascular Research Program on the John Hopkins Institute for Cell Engineering.

Ratcliffe, 65, is director of medical analysis on the Francis Crick Institute in London, and director of the Target Discovery Institute in Oxford.

Monday’s announcement opened an uncommon 2019 Nobel season wherein two literature laureates will likely be topped after a scandal postponed final 12 months’s award.

The Peace Prize will likely be awarded in Oslo on Friday, with hypothesis rife that Swedish teenage activist Greta Thunberg might win for her marketing campaign to increase consciousness about local weather change.

Experts stay nevertheless divided on whether or not there’s an precise hyperlink between armed conflicts and local weather change.

Other names circulating are Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, who clinched a peace cope with arch foe Eritrea, and NGOs comparable to Reporters with out Borders and the Committee to Protect Journalists.

Prize for lithium batteries? 

For Tuesday’s Physics Prize, Swedish each day DN steered it might go to quantum physics analysis, citing US scientist John Clauser, Alain Aspect of France, and Austria’s Anton Zeilinger.

Ronald Hanson of the Netherlands might win for his work on quantum entanglement, SR mentioned.

For the Chemistry Prize, American John Goodenough, who invented lithium batteries, might grow to be the oldest ever winner of a Nobel, on the age of 97.

But it might additionally go to two girls, Emmanuelle Charpentier of France and Jennifer Doudna of the US, for the gene-editing method generally known as the CRISPR-Cas9 DNA snipping software, a kind of genetic “scissors” used to minimize out a mutated gene in a human embryo and substitute it with a corrected model.

Chinese-born American Feng Zhang additionally claims to have found the method.

 Sexual harassment scandal 

Last 12 months, the Swedish Academy which awards the Literature Prize was torn aside by a sexual harassment scandal that uncovered deep conflicts amongst its 18 members. For the primary time in 70 years, and not using a quorum to make key choices, it postponed the 2018 Nobel by a 12 months.

As a outcome, two literature laureates will likely be introduced on Thursday, one for 2018 and one for 2019.

The Academy has spent the previous 12 months making an attempt to tackle its points and restore its honour, and is due to this fact seen to be steering clear of controversy in its picks.

Writers who’ve been making a buzz embody Poland’s Olga Tokarczuk, Kenya’s Ngugi Wa Thiong’o, Ismail Kadare of Albania, Joyce Carol Oates of the US and Japan’s Haruki Murakami, say critics questioned by AFP.

The Economics Prize will wrap issues up on Monday, October 14. Three girls have been talked about as potential winners: Anne Krueger of the US for her work on worldwide commerce, Cuban-born American Carmen Reinhart for her work on public debt and development, and French improvement help economist Esther Duflo.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by Internetstaff and is printed from a syndicated feed.)

Get Breaking information, stay protection, and Latest News from India and world wide on rapidaCatch all of the Live TV motion on Web24x7 and WebIndia. Like us on Facebook or observe us on Twitter and Instagram for newest information and stay information updates.

How's the Post?



Comments to: Nobel Prize for Medicine awarded to William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza of US, Peter Ratcliffe of Britain

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.


Write Story or blog.


Upload Status or Memes or Pics


Upload videos like vlogs.

More Formats

Coming Soon!

My Style

Your profile's Look

My Followers

People who follow you

My Interests

Your Posts Preference

My Bookmarks

Bookmarked Posts

My Following

People you follow


Your profile's Settings


Log out of Rapida

Sign In

Login to your Rapida Account


Create account on Rapida