All you need to know about New Delhi constituency 1

The New Delhi Assembly was carved out of the Gole Market and Sarojini Nagar constituencies in 2008. It has a historical past of being represented by the Delhi chief minister.

In 2008, Congress chief and former Delhi CM Late Sheila Dikshit defeated BJP’s Vijay Jolly. Later in 2013 and 2015, AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal gained the seat.

While Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is in search of a re-election from the seat, each BJP and Congress have fielded less-known first-timers from the constituency towards him.

BJP’s Delhi unit Yuva Morcha president Sunil Yadav and Congress’ Romesh Sabharwal, each little-known faces, are within the fray.

Here is a short profile of the New Delhi seat:

Constituency Name: New Delhi

Constituency Number: 40

Total voters: 88,225

Previous elections: Delhi Chief Minister gained the seat in each 2015 elections. Earlier, former CM Sheila Dikshit gained the seat.

In the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020, AAP might be contesting from all 70 seats for the meeting polls whereas BJP might be contesting on 67 seats, with its ally Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) contesting on the remaining three seats.

On the opposite hand, Congress will struggle on 66 seats and its ally Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) will struggle on the remaining four seats.

Polling might be held at 13,750 polling stations. According to the ballot physique chief, complete electors within the ultimate electoral roll of the NCT of Delhi as on January 6, 2020, are 1,46,92,136.

The polls for all of the seats might be held on February 8, 2020, and the outcomes might be declared on February 11, 2020.

It is to be famous that in 2015, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had a landmark victory after it secured 67 of the entire 70 seats within the state legislature. The get together is now eyeing a second consecutive time period banking on freebies that it supplied to Delhiites together with free water, free electrical energy up to 200 models, free journey for ladies in DTC and cluster buses, amongst different measures.


Log In

Forgot password?

Don't have an account? Register

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.


My Library